NNWIJ: Doghouse (2009)

Director: Jake West

Notable Case: Stephen Graham, Danny Dyer, Noel Clarke

Rating: R

Review: In this “zombie” film, director Jake West and writer Dan Schaffer say f#ck the female race, and f$ck em’ hard.  I don’t care if that’s not politically correct, but I’m in a crazy gender high after watching Doghouse on Netflix Watch Instantly.  This shouldn’t have been as much fun as it turned out to be, taking longer than normal to get into the meat of the action.  But, thanks to some clever British humor, Doghouse swayed me in the end.  Maybe because I love British humor, or maybe because the British cast was great, or maybe because I love any movie Danny Dyer is in; Doghouse won me over.  Not to say I have a weird obsession with Danny Dyer movies (Severance/Malice in Wonderland), but I love the guy as an actor.  He rarely even plays the main part, but his screen presence is flawless in my eyes.  His mix of confidence plus British accent (yes, I love the British) make him a strong supporting character and scene stealer.  Be it as it may, Doghouse is simply about a group of guys trying to show their friend Vince (Graham) all women aren’t evil, but in turn stumble upon a small town where all the women in fact have turned into evil zombie like creatures.  Insane?  Oh yeah, totally.  But fun at the same time.  Some hilariously entertaining filler material gets us to the bulk of the action, then intensity flies us to the end in no time.  If you hate the female gender, look no further than Doghouse.  If you’re a regular horror viewer, then have some fun with Doghouse, but don’t expect massive scare or crazy tension.  Just let go, and have a good time.

Netflix Rating: 4/5

…..for most thought probably a 3/5

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in Nato's Netflix Watch Instantly Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

