Day 21: A Movie That Is A Guilty Pleasure

Now this is my type of topic.  I’m all about the guilty pleasures, that film you know isn’t the best but you can’t get enough of.  My DVD collection is full of these guys.  My biggest guilty pleasure for example is B-grade horror films.  I’m a self-proclaimed gore nut, and am always looking for that next gross out film.  But, my true guilty film lays somewhere else.  It’s still got the violence, but oh so much more:

Crank

I love this movie to no end, no matter how bad people say it is.  Crank plays out like a no holds barred video game, starring the greatest action hero of our time: Jason Statham. The blind intensity, mixed with directors Neveldine and Taylor’s frantic visionary style, makes this the ultimate example of a movie that never lets up.  Crank is always moving, never stopping to catch its breath or break momentum.  The character of Chev Chelios is perfect because he knows his death is imminent, so he just does whatever he wants (to our pleasure).  Shoot outs, hallucinations, Amy Smart, and tons of adrenaline litter the screen.  I have loads of fun watching this movie over and over again, and have no shame admitting it is my guiltiest of pleasures.

What about the peanut gallery?  Your opinion?

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

