Day 20: Favorite Series of Films (i.e. Trilogy)

Wow, this is a toughy.  So many great trilogies/series are in existence today, picking just one is ludicrous.  Star Wars (original obviously), Lord of the Rings, Toy Story, The Godfather, The Dead trilogy (Day/Night/Dawn); the list goes on and on.  Gah, this article is taking forever.  I just keep looking over and over again at these names, and can only think of more to add to the list.  I hate this game.  Fine.  For my favorite series I have to go with:

The Godfather Trilogy

I will acknowledge right up front just how horrendous the final film is compared to the others; it still isn’t a bad movie (7 Oscars and a Best Picture nod?).  But, that fact alone speaks volumes of how good the first two are.  The cast is a dream ensemble of actors that are still just as powerful on-screen as they were in what might just be their defining roles.  The story is damn near flawless, so good in fact the intimidating length of the movies will still seem like a flash after they’re all over.  I sat down with Part I and Part II back to back when I had my wisdom teeth out, and couldn’t have been happier with my decision.  For my two cents, The Godfather outright takes down the title of greatest series to date.

Honorable Mention: The Mariachi Series (Robert Rodriguez): El Mariachi/Desperado/Once Upon A Time In Mexico

Not everyone can agree with me here, I know it.  So what about you guys?  Favorite series?

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

