Day 15: A Film Starring Your Favorite Actress

Is it weird I struggle picking a favorite actress?  I mean I have actresses I like, actresses that I think are gorgeous, but none stick out in my mind in a way that makes me run out to see their new movie.  It’s not like when I see a Statham film and go “Eh, its Statham, why not?”  There’s no doubt Natalie Portman has been blowing up the screen, but I can’t say she’s my favorite.  I love Salma Hayek, but just as the supporting woman.  No, I’m not being sexist, I just don’t have that strong of an opinion for some reason.  But have no fear, because I still know a great role when I see one:

Alien

This is the kind of character Zack Snyder was trying to create in Sucker Punch.  Sigourney Weaver as Ripley is the essential empowered woman character that took an action role and ran with it.  Weaver made it acceptable for a woman to be a total badass.  Actresses like Michelle Rodriguez would not have the appeal they have today without older actresses like Weaver being able to pave the way before hand.  Alien is a fantastic sci-fi film, and was very progressive in picking a female protagonist with Weaver.  But, by doing so, Alien created an iconic female role that may never be dethroned, and Weaver herself will forever be hailed for her popular alien-bashing role.

Who is YOUR favorite actress, and what is your favorite film by that actress?

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

