Day 12: Funniest Film You’ve Ever Seen

Ok, this is legit a tough one.  I have so many favorite comedies, it’s unjust to say one is better than all the rest.  But, to abide by the rules, I must single one out.  This is killing me right now to pick one.  I mean you’ve got classics like Caddyshack and Animal House, stoner comedies like Half Baked and Grandma’s Boy, new comedies like the almighty Walk Hard and Sex Drive, cult comedies like Super Troopers and Kung Pow: Enter the Fist; but one comedy has stood the test of time and shaped an entire genre:

Airplane!

“This woman has to be gotten to a hospital”
“A hospital? What is it?”
“It’s a big building with patients, but that’s not important right now.”

A timeless classic.  This film redefined/created the spoof genre, which is sadly being defiled by such uninspired shit as any ____ (fill in the blank) Movie.  Airplane! was also a strong contender for Most Quotable Film, so there’s another one out of the running.  But the beauty of Airplane! is how brazenly stupid it is, while at the same time being choc full of intelligent wit.  It’s the perfect balance.  The gags are so simple, but slay you ever time. “I have a drinking problem.” *Misses mouth and throws drink over shoulder* The cast is dynamite, including Peter Graves, Julie Hagerty, Lloyd Bridges, Leslie Nielsen, Robert Stack, and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.  This was the start to Nielsen’s illustrious dead pan comedy career, delivering such hilarious lines in the most serious of tones.  “Surely you can’t be serious.”  “I am, and don’t call me Shirley.”  I watched Airplane! about five times in the first two weeks I bought the DVD.  I could use quote after quote to illustrate the brilliant comedic writing, but I’d just end up re-writing the entire script.  Genius.  Pure disaster brilliance.

What about you?  What movie was so funny it made you cry?

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 12: Funniest Film You’ve Ever Seen

  1. Fargo would be my number one.

  2. On funniest? I agree Fargo is a phenomenal movie, but comedy wise, it doesn’t get smarter/dumber than Airplane. Between the hilariously corny sight gags and brilliant writing, there isn’t a comedy in the world that can touch the best spoof film ever written.

Leave a Reply

