Day 10: A Film That Reminds You Of Someone

An interesting topic choice.  But I’ll give it a shot.

Gummo

Not like I’d ever watch this malarkey again, but Gummo will forever remind me of the film teacher I had that influenced me to start this little project of mine.  I cannot tell you how much he raved about this film, and how it was some of the best filmmaking he’s ever seen, and yadda yadda.  You know what, as far as independent films go, it does do everything perfectly.  Camera work, visuals, motifs, hidden messages; it’s all there.  That does not mean it was entertaining in the least though.  Gummo fit my teacher’s personality perfectly: just one of these hipster film students that only raved about films we’ve never heard of.  He just had an aura that he was better than everyone because he had a piece of paper that said he knew more about film than his students.  My friends who had different teachers for the same class got to watch Jaws, Aliens, and The Shinning just to name a few.  Not me!  Gummo was such a waste of time to me I almost got up mid class and walked out.  But forever, whenever I hear this title, I’ll only be able to think about the man who inspired one of my most time-consuming hobbies.

What about you.  Any film remind you of someone specific?

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

