Day 8: A Film That Scares You The Most

Being a huge horror nerd, I don’t scare easy.  You can throw any Freddy, Jason, or Michael movie and I’ll probably end up laughing more than cowering.  I’ve seen more zombie films than anyone should, and enough gore to know exactly what my insides look like.  But recently I was shook by an unsuspecting movie.  Low budget, simple plot, but wow did it creep the bejesus out of me.

Paranormal Activity:

Yes, I’m fully aware so many people found this a film a laughable joke.  I understand how some just weren’t effected.  But this was terrifying to me.  It’s not about what you can see, but about what you can’t that is scariest to me.  Not only that, but it strikes when you’re most vulnerable; and unconscious.  I was laying in bed for nights, eyes darting around the room trying to anticipate some kind of sign.  Or being pulled away an invisible force?   The feeling that something is always watching you?  Sorry, it creeps me out of my skin. But I loved it at the same time for the focus on terror, and not cheap scares.  As much as I wanted to look away, I couldn’t.  Say what you will, but everyone has their own fears, and Paranormal Activity happened to evoke fears I didn’t even know I had.

What about you guys.  Was there a movie that kept you up for nights?

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

