Day 7: A Film You Love You Thought You Would Hate

I’m going to amend this category a tad and turn it into “A Film You Love You Thought You Would/DID Hate.”  I can’t explain it, but this particular movie did nothing for me in theaters.  In fact, I left with the complete mindset that I had just completely wasted an hour and a half of my precious life.  Then, with nothing to do at 4am and being not tired at all, I flipped on the TV and this was the only thing to watch.  Literally.  So I got back in bed, and suddenly found myself crying from laughter almost the entire film.  But what had changed?  Was it the new setting?  Not paying for the ticket?  Sheer deliriousness on account of being up so late?  Whatever it was, it sure worked.

Semi-Pro

There’s no hiding it’s exactly what you’d expect from a Will Ferrell sports comedy, but at the same time that’s Semi-Pro’s biggest strength.  The character of Jackie Moon is beyond moronic, something Ferrell has displayed a talent for in numerous other characters. Essentially, Moon is just a grown baby.  But, after numerous viewings, Semi-Pro has only gotten funnier to me.  When isn’t a bunch of guys who suck at sports actually playing sports not funny?  Plus Will Arnett is one of my favorite character actors, offering his expert commentary for every Flint Tropics game.  When Jackie Moon fights that bear, I lose it every time.  I can’t help it now.  Semi-Pro’s reverse effect has sucked me in, and I can now admit my feelings for the movie have turned a full 180.

What about you?  What movie knocked the socks off of you?

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

