Day 3: A Film That Reminds You Of Your Childhood

Ah, the innocence of childhood.  When I was a little film buff, I had a few favorites that I would always re-watch.  But when thinking, only one came to mind as the film of my childhood….

An American Tale: Fievel Goes West

I used to watch this non stop when I was a little pipsqueak.  Brings me back to when my parents would drop me off at my grandma’s house and I would spend the day with her; the greatest babysitter ever.  She helped raise me as much as my parents did (not because my parents neglected me or anything, just responsible hard-working people) and that’s what this movie brings me back to.  Yeah, that’s right, I’m f@cking adorable.  Won’t hide it, I knew all the songs and loved it.  My poor grandma had to re-watch this movie over and over again with me, but I didn’t care because it rocked.  Fievel kickin’ a$$ in the west was all I needed to complete my day.  This was a huge part of my early childhood and I would be lying if I said watching this trailer didn’t bring back a flood of memories I didn’t even think were still in the old brain bank.  Just because of this post I’m probably going to track down a DVD copy of this bad boy and see what comes back.

Later in my childhood though as I grew up, the movies changed, and for the latter part of my childhood I had:

Small Soldiers

Another classic from my time.  The little film nerd in me never realized all the huge named tied with this project, but I loved it anyway.  It was everything I ever dreamed of; watching my action figures come to life and battle in front of me.  Well, minus the whole attacking me with kitchen ware thing, but still, it was like a childhood fantasy.  No way around it, the Commando Elite kicked some major ass.  This was one of the times you felt OK rooting for the bad guys, because for a child, who could be cooler than Major Chip Hazard, a real American hero type?

What about you guys?  What’s that one film that is the key to your forgotten past?

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in 30 Day Movie Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

