NNWIJ: Suspiria (1977)

Director: Dario Argento

Notable Cast:  Jessica Harper, Udo Kier, Joan Bennett

Rating: NR

Review:  In honor of Halloween, Saturday night before the festivities started some friends and I decided to watch a “horror classic” from renown Italian director Dario Argento.  He’s known for his storytelling and unique horror style, and also said to be one of the most prolific Italian horror directors and many of his films are indeed considered classics in the horror genre.  But what you have to remember is what we consider scary in today’s cinema is completely different than it was some 30 years ago.  Technology was nowhere near todays and effects were not as advanced as some of the incredibly realistic gore movies create today.  So it’s no surprise that such an old horror movie had no effect on me and instead just felt dated.  For its time, I’m sure it was very progressive and revealing, but today’s horror films make a flick like Suspiria look like a low-budget student flick.  Also, the blaring music Argento chose to set the mood here really got on my nerves after a while.  It was loud, obnoxious, and did the opposite of setting a tense and scary mood.  Maybe old school horror isn’t my style, but I’m much more adept to watch a recent horror film than reach back for an early entry.  I appreciate how Argento does his best to contrive a creative story, but for so long I was staring at the screen in utter confusion.  He reaches too far at parts, and his fantasy world becomes completely unbelievable.  I will say he was able to create some fantastic visuals using different colored lights and windows, but besides that I couldn’t find the appeal of Suspiria.  With too many adrenaline filled masterpieces of new, I guess my attention span has been limited somewhat.  If you’re looking for some old school story based horror, look no further.  But don’t be surprised when there are no thrills, chills, or action.

Netflix Rating: 2/5

About Matt Donato

I love all things film. I'll watch any genre, any actor, at any time. This whole film critic thing is a passionate hobby for now which I'm balancing with working in the business world, but hey, someday, who knows?
This entry was posted in Nato's Netflix Watch Instantly Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NNWIJ: Suspiria (1977)

  1. Pingback: NNWIJ: Deep Red (1975) | Cinema Scrutiny

Leave a Reply

